WELCOME TO DRAGON COTTAGE

  • Easy access to the beautiful Yorkshire Dales and the magnificent Cumbrian Lake District

DRAGON COTTAGE

Self Catering Holiday Cottage in the Picturesque Village of Dent in The Yorkshire Dales National Park

Dent village is approximately 20 minutes from J37 off t​he M6. It is easily accessible from the North or South. Just 10 miles long, Dentdale stretches from Sedbergh in the West to Dent Head in the East. The scenery is unique, created by the famous Dent Fault that has divided the Dale into two, leaving a typical Lakeland landscape to the West and a more rolling Dales like countryside to the East
WHY DENT?



Dent village is central to the most picturesque scenery in the United Kingdom. Not only is Dent in the beautiful Yorkshire Dales it is also within driving distance of the Lake District. The best of both worlds!!


NORTHERN DALES
The NORTHERN DALES offer the contrasting valleys of Wensleydale, sometimes called the waterfall valley. Coverdale, Bishopsdale and Swaledale famous for its abundance of wildflower meadows. Mountain biking, pony trekking, watersports and fishing. Miles of public footpaths and motor racing at Croft Circuit and horse racing at Catterick  http://www.catterickbridge.co.uk/ , just a few activities in the Northern Dales. Visit Hawes http://www.yorkshire.com/places/yorkshire-dales/hawes  and Reeth, market towns with a range of craft shops, tea rooms and galleries. Richmond has a vast cobbled market place and the remains of Ricmond castle http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/visit/places/richmond-castle/ . Not forgetting Aysgarth Falls http://www.yorkshire.com/view/attractions/leyburn/aysgarth-falls-tourist-information-centre-1164903 , Buttertubs Pass and its famous Herriot Country http://www.yorkshire.com/places/north-yorkshire/herriot-country ;

EASTERN DALES
Nidderdale in the EASTERN DALES is an Area of Outstanding Natural Beauty, a wonderful blend of green meadows and wind swept Heather clad tops. From the River Nidd, on the slopes of Great Whernside https://www.threepeakschallenge.uk/yorkshire-three-peaks-challenge/whernside , Nidderdale runs through to Ripley. To the East is Stump Cross Caverns http://www.stumpcrosscaverns.co.uk/ , a superb show of stalactites and stalagmites. Double winner of Britain in Bloom, Pateley Bridge http://www.pateley-bridge.com/  has traditional pubs and tearooms. Masham boasts two famous breweries, Black Sheep https://www.blacksheepbrewery.com/  and Theakston http://www.theakstons.co.uk/ . For the energetic there is the Nidderdale Way http://www.gps-routes.co.uk/routes/home.nsf/routeslinkswalks/nidderdale-way-walking-route , a 53 mile waymarked circular walk which takes in many of the Dales highlights.


SOUTHERN DALES

Some of the most stunning and dramatic scenery is found in the SOUTHERN DALES Wharfedale
http://www.yorkshiredales.org.uk/visit-the-dales/discover-the-dales/dales/southerndales/wharfedale  is a mix of rugged hills, rolling hay meadows and traditional stone villages. Ribblesdale where the three towering summits of Pen-y-ghent, Ingleborough and Whernside https://www.threepeakschallenge.uk/yorkshire-three-peaks-challenge/pen-y-ghent  stand sentinel over wild scenery



WESTERN DALES
The WESTERN DALES was a noted favourite of Wainwright
https://www.wainwright.org.uk/ , the magnificent Howgills offer both quiet fell walking and less strenuous rambles. Garsdale, with high, wild moorland on the tops will chase away those cobwebs. And of course theres Dentdale http://www.yorkshirenet.co.uk/yorkshire-dales/dentdale/ , a hidden secret gem of lush meadows dotted with farmsteads. Cautley Spout http://where2walk.co.uk/yorkshire_dales/dales_summits_walks/the-calf-via-cautley-spout/  cascades an impressive 200m in less than 1/2 mile in a series of waterfalls beside Cautley Crag
.

​​

THE LAKE DISTRICT

Set on the fringe of the LAKE DISTRICT the thriving town of Kendal http://www.visitcumbria.com/sl/kendal/  is home of the famous Mintcake http://www.mintcake.co.uk/ . Visit Kirkby Lonsdale http://www.kirkbylonsdale.co.uk/ , in the valley of the River Lune. Search the many speciality shops or have lunch in the 17th and 18th century inns. Up in The Lakes and Windermere http://www.visitcumbria.com/amb/windermere-lake/  with its lake cruises and world of Beatrix Potter http://www.hop-skip-jump.com/ . Ambleside with its many interests, Homes of Football, Rydal Mount and Gardens. Dove Cottage https://wordsworth.org.uk/visit/dove-cottage.html  and the Wordsworth museum https://wordsworth.org.uk/visit/the-wordsworth-museum.html  at Grasmere. Travel to Coniston and take a cruise on Steam Yacht Gondola https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/steam-yacht-gondola , calling at Brantwood, the home of John Ruskin http://www.brantwood.org.uk/ . Then Ullswater and enjoy the stunning views of the Lakeland fells and take a walk at the spectacular Aira Force https://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/aira-force-and-ullswater .


WHETHER IT'S THE DALES OR THE LAKES, DENT IS THE IDEAL LOCATION TO ENJOY BOTH OF THESE AREAS OF OUTSTANDING BEAUTY. THEN AT THE END OF A LONG AND ENJOYABLE DAY, HEAD BACK TO THE COMFORT AND WARM WELCOME OF DRAGON COTTAGE.       HOME FROM HOME!!